Scholarships are a wonderful way to help members of our community pursue continuing education, develop their unique potential, and enhance their ability to contribute to community and society as citizens.

The Community Foundation administers a number of scholarship funds to support the educational aspirations of community members. In many cases, we partner with local sponsoring groups to publicize and award scholarships.

Perhaps the best-known scholarship administered in partnership with the Community Foundation is the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. These scholars receive full tuition and a book stipend for up to four years of baccalaureate study at any college in Indiana.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

Program offers four-year, full-tuition scholarships to Indiana students who intend to work toward a baccalaureate degree at any accredited public or private college or university in Indiana.  For more information click here.

JP Morgan Chase Bank Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded annually to finalists for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.  There is no separate application for this award.

Community Foundation Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded annually to finalists for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.  There is no separate application for this award.

Carl Deal, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was created in honor of Carl Deal Jr.  Mr. Deal felt a strong passion for The Boys & Girls Club and their strong commitment and success in our community, the lives of his family and friends and he appreciated the commitment and impact that BGCB had on his life.  Carl was a long-time Boys & Girls Club member and wanted to give back to the young people of this community. Upon his death, his friends, co-workers and family coordinated an annual fundraiser known as “King’s Blues, BBQ & Funkfest”, in order to raise funds to create a scholarship to be presented annually to a current, or former Boys & Girls Club member, for post-secondary education or training.   For more information and the online application, click here.

Judy Talley Memorial Scholarship

Judy Talley was a well-respected medical social worker in the Bloomington community for many years. She served as a medical social worker, then as the director of Medical Social Services at the hospital until her appointment overseeing the Bloomington Hospital Foundation. In honor of Judy, her friends chose to establish the annual Judy Talley Scholarship award, which is to be given to an undergraduate social work student at Indiana University Bloomington who has demonstrated high academic performance and a commitment to a future in mental health and/or health/hospice care.  Applicants can apply through the IU School of Social work.

Maurice E. and Frances Harding Endwright Scholarship

The Maurice E. and Frances Harding Endwright Scholarship was established to support Edgewood High school students pursuing degrees in either Education or Journalism.   Applicants can apply through the Edgewood Dollars for Scholars program.

Monroe County Ag Day Scholarship

An eligible applicant is a current senior in high school who meets at least one of the following criteria: raised on a farm, member/former member of the Monroe County 4-H program, current member of the Monroe County FFA chapter. For more information click here.

Pi Beta Phi Alumnae Club Betty Burnett Welke Scholarship

This memorial scholarship honors Betty Burnett’s years of service and commitment to the Pi Beta Phi chapter at Indiana University. For more information click here.

Smithville Scholarship for Technology

The Smithville Communications Scholarship for Technology was established by the Smithville Charitable Foundation to support Edgewood High School students pursuing degrees in the communications field. The goal of the scholarship is to develop future leaders for the field of communications who will understand the importance of communication services, and bring a passion to improving communications technology (particularly related to hardware) through research and development, engineering, operations or related fields.  Applicants can apply through the Edgewood Dollars for Scholars program.

Stinesville High School Alumni Scholarship

This scholarship is for Edgewood High School graduates who have a Bean Blossom Township School affiliation. For more information click here.

Tom Moeller Memorial Scholarship

To provide music scholarships/grants to high school students – grades 10 to 12 who reside in Monroe County and wish to pursue music endeavors.  For more information click here.

Stay Connected

Join our mailing list to receive our newsletter and keep up to date with the CFBMC's community events, scholarship deadlines, and more!