Semifinalists selected for Monroe County’s 2020 Lilly Scholarships

Twenty high school seniors have been selected as semifinalists for Monroe County’s 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. Join us in congratulating these exceptional students:

  • Hadley Abram, Bloomington High School North
  • Marielle Berin, Bloomington High School North
  • Joy Bhattacharya, Bloomington High School North
  • Emma Coffey, Edgewood High School
  • Alexander Coniaris, Bloomington High School South
  • Ava Crees, Bloomington High School South
  • Alexandra Floyd, Bloomington High School North
  • Alice Ford, Bloomington High School South
  • Erica Goldsworthy, Bloomington High School North
  • Nicholas Graef, Edgewood High School
  • Brandt Guthrie, Edgewood High School
  • Joelle Jackson, Bloomington High School North
  • Mairead Kennedy, Bloomington High School South
  • John Lyles, Bloomington High School South
  • Grace May, Bloomington High School South
  • Sekou Noble-Kuchera, Bloomington High School North
  • Brooke Ramusack, Bloomington High School South
  • Ron Underwood, Bloomington High School South
  • Colby Wicker, Edgewood High School
  • Amelia Wiser, Lighthouse Christian Academy

Monroe County’s 2020 semi-finalists were selected from among 87 applications submitted by students from each Monroe County high school. Applications for the 2020 scholarship were blindly reviewed and independently scored by members of a scholarship committee at each high school to identify semi-finalists. The number of semi-finalists identified is reflective of each school’s senior class size.

Monroe County’s two Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are awarded four-year, full-tuition scholarships to pursue baccalaureate degrees at colleges or universities in Indiana. The scholarship also includes up to $900 annually for required textbooks and equipment. In selecting recipients for the Monroe County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, consideration is given to student activities and achievements, community and civic service, academic performance, and leadership potential. Applicants for the scholarship must attend Bloomington High School North, Bloomington High School South, Edgewood High School, Academy of Science and Entrepreneurship, Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics & Humanities, Bloomington Graduation School, or Lighthouse Christian Academy. Read Monroe County’s full Lilly Scholarship eligibility requirements.

The Community Foundation Lilly Scholarship Selection Committee, which is made up of members of the community and former Monroe County Lilly Scholars, will blindly review and score semifinalist applications to select ten finalists. Finalists for the scholarship will be identified in October.

Finalists will then be interviewed, with interview scores combined with scoring from the written application. The finalists’ rankings, along with the committee’s recommendations for scholarship recipients, will be submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. Independent Colleges of Indiana will affirm the scholarship recipients for Monroe County. Monroe County’s two 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars will be named in December.

Since 1998, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program has assisted more than 4,626 Indiana high school graduates statewide with more than $392 million in tuition to pursue baccalaureate degrees at Indiana colleges and universities. The program is administered by Independent Colleges of Indiana and community foundations in each of Indiana’s 92 counties.

For more information on the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program or other scholarships administered by CFBMC, visit or contact Marcus Whited, Program Director at 812-333-9016 or

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
On September 23rd, 2019, posted in: News by

Stay Connected

Join our mailing list to receive our newsletter and keep up to date with the CFBMC's community events, scholarship deadlines, and more!